About The Martin Arms Hotel
The Martin Arms Hotel has a proud and interesting past. The main part of the hotel was built as a family home in 1903 by J.K. Ross, the Scottish industrialist who ran the local steel mill and coal mines. It contains the Business Centre, The Triple Crown Bistro, Gaming Centre and Banquet Room.
During the 1st World War the Martin Arms Hotel was used as an Officer's Headquarters and later converted to an army hospital.
Mr. W.N. MacDonald, another wealthy Scot, bought the property in the 1920's and spent a fortune on restoration, importing special woods and stained glass from his native Scotland. When his family sold the property it became St. Rita's Hospital and was operated in that capacity until the early 1950's.
In 1953 when the new St. Rita's Hospital was opened, the Martin Arms Hotel became the Nurse's residence until 1963.
Shortly after it was purchased by the Wandelen Hotel chain, sixty-four new units were added. During the past few years, the Martin Arms Hotel has undergone extensive renovations to modernize the existing facility while retaining all the charm, history, and character of the original Ross family home. The hotel is now owned and operated by the Martin family, who would like to invite you to share their down home hospitality.
Triple Crown Bistro
The Triple Crown Bistro is named in honour of JK Ross, a wealthy adventurer who once resided on the premises. In 1919 his horse, Sir Barton became the first Triple Crown Winner in history.
We celebrate his love of Fabulous Food & Happy Adventure with the promise that Every Meal Is A Winning Experience!